So far its been trial and error but one thing that you have to do is make sure your husband is on the same page as you!! lol
Its been hard to cut the bottle back since right now we are in a heat wave. Rylen doesn't drink enough fluids from sippy cups so we have been putting water in his bottle. First things first, cut back the amount of milk (for health reasons) and then we can deal with the bottle.
Rylen has a full bottle of milk at least 3 times a day and 2 at night and if he does need more we have been mixing half of it with water or just giving him straight water. He is also eating a little more now which is GREAT! Before I even think about giving him a bottle I offer him some nice cold fruit (fresh or frozen) or cucomber. I have been finding that it ties him over for an extra hour but then the grumpiness hits! Rylen will get very upset and grumpy if he doesn't have a bottle but as soon as he drinks it, he is as happy as can be!!
Yesterday we tried giving him his milk in a spill proof cup with a straw (the ones from a restaurant) and he drank half of it! The problem with the sippy cups is that no matter how much the company tells you that they are leak and spill proof- they are not!! Rylen loves to dump his upside down and shake the water or juice out and then plays in it. No wonder Andrew had to steam clean the carpets yesterday!!
Tomorrow I'm going to try something new. I'm dividing 2 cups of milk into his bottles and that is all he is going to get for the day. Some of them will have water in them to top it off and the dinner bottle will just be straight milk to hopefully full him up enough for bedtime. If he wants more I guess I'm going to have to deal with a cranky child and just keep putting food in front of him and to try and distract him. If that goes well, then I will cut back some of the bottles and give him straight water. Im hoping that at the end of next week he will only be drinking 2cups of milk a day!
Friday, July 31, 2009
Monday, July 27, 2009
Today is day 1
This morning Rylen woke up at 6am (normally between 8-9am) and went down for his nap around 9:30 (normally 12am). Within the 3hrs of being awake he had 3 bottles of milk! Way to much!!!
He's almost 18months and we really need to get his milk intake down to 2cups a day (he's drinking over 40oz a day). We would like to get him off of the bottle aswell. I'm all ears if anyone has any advice on this!
-Do I let him cry it out and completely refuse to give him the bottle and only give him milk in a sippy cup? (he doesn't like drinking from a sippy cup)
-Do I limit the bottles to only 3 a day and if he wants more, TUFF?!
-Do I give him only half bottles?
-Do I fill up some of the bottles with water?
So after this morning I figured that it would be a good day to begin cutting back on milk.
-limit the amount of bottles that he has by only putting out 3 for the day. Once he has one then I cant wash it and reuse it until the next day.
-give him a big boy cup or a cup with a straw to drink his milk with.
-try to always have food available for him to munch on so he stays somewhat full .
-distraction!!
I'm sure that this is going to be a battle but I think I'm ready.
He's almost 18months and we really need to get his milk intake down to 2cups a day (he's drinking over 40oz a day). We would like to get him off of the bottle aswell. I'm all ears if anyone has any advice on this!
-Do I let him cry it out and completely refuse to give him the bottle and only give him milk in a sippy cup? (he doesn't like drinking from a sippy cup)
-Do I limit the bottles to only 3 a day and if he wants more, TUFF?!
-Do I give him only half bottles?
-Do I fill up some of the bottles with water?
So after this morning I figured that it would be a good day to begin cutting back on milk.
-limit the amount of bottles that he has by only putting out 3 for the day. Once he has one then I cant wash it and reuse it until the next day.
-give him a big boy cup or a cup with a straw to drink his milk with.
-try to always have food available for him to munch on so he stays somewhat full .
-distraction!!
I'm sure that this is going to be a battle but I think I'm ready.
Saturday, July 25, 2009
No, No, No!!
Thats what we are dealing with right now! Its driving us a little crazy because we are hearing Rylen say "no" all of the time. We are also in the stage of tantrums, hitting and lots of whinning!
Will this ever end??
Wednesday, July 22, 2009
Corn anyone??
What's this?
I've never had one of these before...
Mmm... taste pretty good!
When is this lady ever going to stop taking pictures of me?
All Im doing is eating corn on the cob for the first time!
Tuesday, July 21, 2009
Manners
From the very beginning Andrew and I wanted to make sure Rylen used his manners. So many children these days don't even know their please and thank you's and we find it very disgusting! This is something everyone should be teaching their kids.
Rylen has been saying "please" from the very start, it was one of his first words. It made us very proud that our 1yr old has more manners then not just children but adults as well.
Well this morning I took Rylen out of his crib. "blanket" he said as he pointed to it. I was quite pleased because that was a brand new word for him. I handed him his blanket and he looked up at me and said "thank you"
I swear I probably had a smile from ear to ear. Another new word and he knew how to use it! So all day today he has been saying his please and thank you's!!
Can you tell Im a proud mama?!!
Which one?
I was wanting to get a print for Rylen's new room and these are two of the choices. Rylen's room will be painted a light blue with 2-3 brown stripes at the top.
These two prints are from pennypeople and are around $15
http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5058067
These two prints are from pennypeople and are around $15
http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5058067
The blue and green one was my first choice but I was wondering if I needed a little more colour
Saturday, July 18, 2009
My first burger!
Mr Potato Head
Rylen got a new toy from Doey the other day, meet Mr Potato Head!!
He will actually sit there for hours paying with it...Ok, not hours but you know what I mean!
He will actually sit there for hours paying with it...Ok, not hours but you know what I mean!
A Masterpiece!!
One of Rylen's favorite things to do, colour!!
We just bought him new "beginer" crayons which he loves!
Wednesday, July 15, 2009
Furniture shopping is NOT fun!!
Andrew and I have decided to get Rylen a new bed but finding one is not very easy! We would love to have a matching set , a bed and dresser in a dark colour and Andrew doesn't want to have a footboard on the bed incase Rylen grows to be a monster.


We also checked out JYSK but it would cost us $900 for a 3pc set. We would still have to buy the mattress and we are not sure how the quality of this furniture would stand up.
We didn't realise how expensive it was going to be!
The Brick doesn't really have what we are looking for but the prices are outrageous for the quality of furniture they carry. Just for the bed they are asking over $500!!
We looked at Ikea which would be our ideal place to buy something (we trust the quality) and for
a 5pc set which we love would cost us $1100. Now this includes shipping and the mattress but they want $350 for shipping and $120 for tax. Its crazy how things add up!
a 5pc set which we love would cost us $1100. Now this includes shipping and the mattress but they want $350 for shipping and $120 for tax. Its crazy how things add up!This is the set that we would love to get.


We also checked out JYSK but it would cost us $900 for a 3pc set. We would still have to buy the mattress and we are not sure how the quality of this furniture would stand up.
There was another place online that we found called Everythingfurniture which has some great pieces but again it would cost us $1500.
Who knew kids furniture was so expensive!! and hard to find!
Sunday, July 12, 2009
I think he might have this backwards (video)
Rylen is trying to climb into his crib, shouldnt he be trying to climb out of it??
Its only the begining!
Cookie Thief!!!
BUSTED!!
I found the Cookie Thief!!!!
Hiding behind his door so he wont get caught!
Silly cookie monster!
I think daddy has been teaching him how to sneak cookies!! I better have a talk with him!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



